cone magazine


Cone 005 Playlist

Summer is upon us, and it doesn’t all have to be soundtracked by cheesy piano riffs, lush pads and pitched up vocals!

This is a collection of our favourite tracks released recently on some of the most exciting and innovative labels out there to date. Including potential summer anthems (O’Flynn and Joe), as well as bass heavy tunes ready to do the damage across late night festival tents (Simo Cell & Minor Science), not forgetting the infectious nodder courtesy of Slackk.

O’Flynn – Tyrion [Blip Discs]

O’Flynn spins a calypso drum solo on its head and transforms it into arguably the busiest and most tasteful dance tracks of the year. ‘Tyrion’ combines heavy tribal percussion with booming sub bass, which is enough to send any dance floor into a frenzy. Evidence of this can found when Four Tet drops it in his recent Boiler Room set!

Joe – Thinkin About [Text]

Its been almost a year since this mysterious edit of Bobby McFerrin’s 1986 classic single ‘Thinking About Your Body’ first surfaced and began doing the rounds. Finally it has seen a white label release through Text Records and it has defiantly been worth the wait.

Simo Cell – Cellar Door [dnuoS ytiviL]

French newcomer Simo Cell has got two killer tracks lined up on Bristol’s dnuoS ytiviL, the sister label of Livity Sound run by Peverelist, Kowton & Asusu. They specialise in bass driven, forward thinking techno that has earned them the respect of their peers. A-side ‘Cellar Door’ slots in perfectly alongside previous releases from Alex Coulton, Batu and Hodge. Excited to hear more Simo Cell over the next year!

Minor Science – Glamour [Whities]

Nic Tasker’s label Whities now onto its fourth release has formed a reputation for twisting the boundaries of house & techno into new obscene territories. B-side ‘Glamour’ is led by a thumping kick pattern that relentlessly pierces through filtered white noise and distorted clicks that combine together to provide a truly unique groove.

Slackk – Bells [R&S Records]

Slackk is a producer who has always shown versatility. Previous releases on Numbers, Unknown to the Unknown and Diskotopia have all showcased his ability to produce interesting and uncompromising music. ‘Bells’ is the opening track off his new EP on the formidable R&S records, it’s infectious melody and shuffling claps make for the perfect chilled out summer listening.


Features are free for all CONE Mag subscribers.
Sign up below