cone magazine

Maribou State Announce Debut Album ‘Portraits’

maribou state on cone magazine

On 1st June 2015, internationally regarded electronic duo Maribou State will release their debut album titled Portraits on Ninja Tune.

The combination of Chris Davids and Liam Ivory effortlessly creates a unique yet beautiful sound. Melodic bass thumps seamlessly alongside haunting synth rhythms and numerous other daring yet intelligent sound choices, combining to forge the incredible new album that is Portraits.

Featuring longtime collaborator Pedestrian (2nd Drop/Born Electric) as well as vocalists Holly Walker and Jono McCleery, all of whom simply add to the aura of excitement surrounding this upcoming album.

Maribou State have consistently released a steady stream of music over the past few years, all of which simply serves to reinforce their already unwavering reputation in the electronic music scene. From Scarlett Groove to the Tounge and Truths EPs, it is evident the duo take time to hone their craft. The addition of live musicianship and songcraft as opposed to relying solely on software, which slowly chips away at the soul of a piece of music with each click of the mouse. This has clearly not gone unnoticed, numerous Radio legends including Annie Mac, B. Traits, Gilles Peterson, Huw Stephens and Zane Lowe have all showed both their support and admiration for Maribou State. One of many reasons for them also becoming a common name to appear on festival bills all over Europe including Bestival alongside John Talabot, Lxury and Jamie xx, Glastonbury and Warehouse Project.

Majestic orchestral undertones and uplifting synths combined with trademark deconstructed vocal dubs, ‘Rituals’ is nothing but pleasurable to the ear. It’s another step up the ladder from 2013 where Maribou State left off, but with Portraits just ahead, who knows how high they have the potential to climb.


1 Home

2 The Clown (feat. Pedestrian)

3 Rituals

4 Steal (feat. Holly Walker)

5 Wallflower

6 Say More (feat. Jono McCleery)

7 Raincoats

8 Midas (feat. Holly Walker)

9 Natural Fools

10 Varkala


Features are free for all CONE Mag subscribers.
Sign up below